Aconyte & Ubisoft collaborate to bring you Assassin’s Creed: The Ming Storm!

Today we bring you some excellent news that we in the Aconyte office are extremely excited about. As fans may already know we have partnered with Ubisoft to bring you stories set in some of the best video game settings available, and today we finally get to tell you about a totally new original Assassin’s Creed trilogy we will begin publishing this summer.

“We are really proud to be able to bring this original trilogy to English readers worldwide through Aconyte. Although the content is not set in the continuity of the main storyline, you will find a great authentic Assassin’s Creed story. Enjoy the ride!”

―Aymar Azaizia, Transmedia and Business Development director at Ubisoft

Assassin’s Creed: The Ming Storm, by Yan Leisheng, is the start of an action-packed trilogy set in 16th century China. Our protagonist is Shao Jun, a young Assassin born into imperial custody. She is already a fan-favourite from the franchise as the main protagonist of the Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China video game. After the elimination of the Chinese Brotherhood by the rival Templars, Shao Jun must travel to Europe to train with the legendary Ezio Auditore, before she returns to exact revenge.

“You’ve come far for someone who was merely once a Concubine.”

―Gao Feng, 1526.

Written by bestselling Chinese author Yan Leisheng, the novel has recently been published in his homeland and also at the end of 2020 in France. This is the first time the novel will be available in English and is being translated for us by Nikki Kopelman.

Let’s have a closer look at the wonderful cover, by Simon Goinard and the blurb, shall we?

Assassin’s Creed: The Ming Storm by Yan Leisheng

“I am the blade in the shadows… I shall walk in the darkness and strike swiftly. No one will stop me in my hunt.”

―Shao Jun.

China, 16th century. The Assassins are gone. Zhang Yong, the relentless leader of the Eight Tigers, took advantage of the emperor’s death to eliminate all his opponents, and now the Templars hold all the power. Shao Jun, the last representative of her clan, barely escapes death and has no choice but to flee her homeland. Vowing to avenge her former brothers in arms, she travels to Europe to train with the legendary Ezio Auditore. When she returns to the Middle Kingdom, her saber and her determination alone will not be enough to eliminate Zhang Yong: she will have to surround herself with allies and walk in the shadows to defeat the Eight Tigers.

Simon has done a wonderful job of capturing the essence of the earlier Assassin’s Creed games within this cover. Gorgeous rolling hills, cherry blossom trees, and a winding river in the background, and Shao Jun strolling out of the mists, ready to battle. It gives as tingles just looking at it! We highly recommend you visit his website to see some detailed sketches and finished pieces.

The Ming Storm will be published in the US and Canada on June 1st, and on July 8th in the UK.  The book will be available in paperback and ebook formats, with an audiobook version expected to follow shortly after. Reviewers can request a digital review copy from March 22nd on NetGalley.

At the end of 2020, we announced we are Ubisoft’s go-to fiction partner for novels for adult readers, to create new adventures from unexplored corners of the worlds of popular games like Watch Dogs®, Tom Clancy’s The Division, Beyond Good & Evil, and more. Expect more announcements as our range of compelling tie-in fiction expands further. Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Geirmund’s Saga is available in paperback in the US and Canada from March 2nd, 2021.

© 2021 Ubisoft Entertainment. All Rights Reserved. Assassin’s Creed, Watch Dogs, Ubisoft, and the Ubisoft logo are registered or unregistered trademarks of Ubisoft Entertainment in the US and/or other countries.

YAN LEISHENG has had a special interest in science fiction since an early age, but it wasn’t until his thirties that he was first published. Since then, he has published twenty books, including novels, short story collections, essays, and poetry. His most famous trilogy “Heaven Prevails” has sold over 500,000 copies in Chinese.

Press contact: To find more information or to arrange an interview about Aconyte’s mission, see or email


Join our mailing list to learn everything there is about Aconyte, our partners, and our incredible upcoming novels.

Join our
mailing list

Find out everything first!

Form inexplicably not working? Try this one instead.