Legend of the Five Rings: The Game of 100 Candles by Marie Brennan

The Game of 100 Candles

A Legend of the Five Rings Novel

The Game of 100 Candles

A Legend of the Five Rings Novel

By Marie Brennan

Two samurai risk their hearts, souls, and their very existence to stop an occult phantom from destroying the world, in this stunning supernatural fantasy from Legend of the Five Rings

The demon-vanquishing samurai, Asako Sekken and Agasha no Isao Ryōtora are summoned to Winter Court. Their exploits with the Spirit Realms have taken a toll on the pair and the cut and thrust of Rokugani politics proves challenging. After being urged to share their tales of adventure, the Winter Court guests begin to fall into a deep sleep from which they cannot wake. Fearing foul play, the Phoenix demand retribution, but Sekken and Ryōtora uncover the hand of a supernatural trickster seeking entry to the mortal realm. The path to victory will risk their lives and the strange bond between them. But they must succeed, lest something awful escape into Rokugan.

Read For Free Now
Listen to the Audiobook
Legend of the Five Rings

Legend of the Five Rings

The realm of Rokugan is a land of samurai, courtiers, and mystics, of dragons and divine beings – a world of heroism, magic, and steel. Through times of peace and war, the samurai of the seven Great Clans have competed for power and influence. But as the trust between them fractures, those struggles turn ever bloodier. Former allies become fierce adversaries, and unlikely pacts are forged between ancient enemies. While conflict and political intrigue divide the clans, the true threat awaits in the darkness of the Shadowlands, beyond the vast Carpenter Wall. There, in the twisted wastelands, an evil corruption endlessly seeks the downfall of the empire. As the Shadowlands threat grows, samurai from the warring clans must put aside their differences and unite if they are to save the very soul of Rokugan.

     More about Legend of the Five Rings

Publication Details

Page Count: 352pp
Cover Art: Shen Fei
Genre: Fantasy


Paperback edition

US On Sale Date: March 7, 2023
UK On Sale Date: May 11, 2023
Paperback ISBN: 9781839082153
Paperback Dimensions: 197mm x 130mm


Ebook edition

Global Ebook On Sale Date: March 7, 2023
ebook ISBN: 9781839082160


Audiobook

Global On Sale: March 7, 2023
ISBN: 9798350800944

About the Author


MARIE BRENNAN is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for inspiration. She recently misapplied her professors’ hard work to The Night Parade of 100 Demons and the short novel Driftwood. She is the author of the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent along with several other series, over seventy short stories, and the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides; as half of M.A. Carrick, she has written the epic Rook and Rose trilogy, beginning with The Mask of Mirrors.

     More about Marie Brennan

Interviews and Articles
Reviews

“An absolute ‘must read’ choice for fans of Samurai novels and Heroic Fantasy Fiction”
Midwest Book Review

“This one gets five stars from me”
Lauren’s Bookshelf

“Much like Night Parade, it’s a tie-in novel that draws upon all the depth and detail of a brilliant established world, but transcends what’s gone before to stand proud as just a wonderful, warm, characterful story.”
Track of Words

“An absolute ‘must read’ choice for fans of Samurai novels and Heroic Fantasy Fiction”
Midwest Book Review

“A delightfully engrossing read, one that goes in some unexpected directions, and puts the characters and their struggles at the fore of everything.”
Trans-Scribe

“I had a wonderful time jumping back again into the world of Rokugan”
A Dreaming Sky

Praise for Marie Brennan

“An entertaining and impactful read, that went far beyond its supernatural elements to create a very human, emotional story.”

Beneath a Thousand Skies, on The Night Parade of 100 Demons

“The fascinating and rather beautiful way that Marie has presented the culture and world of Rokugan drew me in and kept me turning the page.”

Big Geordie Geek, on The Night Parade of 100 Demons

 

L5R The Game of One Hundred Candles by Marie Brennan cover 3d

Global Ebook On Sale: March 7, 2023
US Paperback On Sale: March 7, 2023
UK Paperback On Sale: May 11, 2023
Global Audiobook On Sale: March 7, 2023

More from Legend of the Five Rings

Explore Other Worlds

TALK ABOUT THIS BOOK

Join our
mailing list

Find out everything first!

Form inexplicably not working? Try this one instead.

Pick up The Game of 100 Candles
from your favourite vendor:

Please note: online retailers update their catalogs at different times, and not all titles will be available everywhere immediately.

L5R The Game of One Hundred Candles by Marie Brennan cover 3d