Legend of the Five Rings: The Market of 100 Fortunes by Marie Brennan

The Market of 100 Fortunes

A Legend of the Five Rings Novel

The Market of 100 Fortunes

A Legend of the Five Rings Novel

By Marie Brennan

Enthralling fantasy mystery from the world of Legend of the Five Rings as two samurai risk everything to rescue an old friend from the clutches of a shadowy trickster

Having vanquished demons and halted invasions of devious creatures from the Spirit Realms, Asako Sekken and Agasha no Isao Ryōtora are finally going to be married. But when a note from their old ally Sayashi arrives unexpectedly, the samurai find themselves dragged into another supernatural mystery.
Their investigation leads them to Crane lands and an ancient market ruled by a mysterious being. Now Sekken and Ryōtora must use all their wit and charm to save Sayashi from a hundred year bargain before they find themselves embroiled in a conflict with a forgotten deity of unimaginable power.

Read For Free Now
Listen to the Audiobook
Legend of the Five Rings

Legend of the Five Rings

The realm of Rokugan is a land of samurai, courtiers, and mystics, dragons, magic, and divine beings – a world of heroism, magic, and steel. The clans have defended and served the Emperor for a thousand years both on the battlefield and in Rokugan’s courts. While conflict and political intrigue divides the clans, the true threat awaits in the darkness of the Shadowlands, behind the vast Kaiu Wall. There, in the twisted wastelands, an evil corruption endlessly seeks the downfall of the empire. The rules of Rokugan’s society are absolute, and the Great Clans must always maintain their honor, lest they lose everything in the pursuit of glory.

     More about Legend of the Five Rings

Publication Details

Page Count: 352pp
Cover Art: Shen Fei
Genre: Fantasy


Paperback edition

US On Sale Date: February 20, 2024
UK On Sale Date: April 25, 2024
Paperback ISBN: 9781839082597
Paperback Dimensions: 197mm x 130mm


Ebook edition

Global Ebook On Sale Date: February 20, 2024
ebook ISBN: 9781839082603


Audiobook

Global On Sale: February 20, 2024
ISBN: 9798350898705

About the Author


MARIE BRENNAN is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for inspiration. She recently misapplied her professors’ hard work to The Night Parade of 100 Demons and the short novel Driftwood. She is the author of the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent along with several other series, over seventy short stories, and the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides; as half of M.A. Carrick, she has written the epic Rook and Rose trilogy, beginning with The Mask of Mirrors.

     More about Marie Brennan

Reviews

Praise for Marie Brennan

“An absolute ‘must read’ choice for fans of Samurai novels and Heroic Fantasy Fiction”

Midwest Book Review, on The Game of 100 Candles

“It transcends its tie-in roots to deliver a powerful, emotional tale of loyalty, honour, duty and love.”

Track of Words, on The Night Parade of 100 Demons

 “Both protagonists are pining idiots, though for fascinatingly different reasons. Five out of Five.”

Lauren’s Bookshelf, on The Night Parade of 100 Demons

Global Ebook On Sale: February 20, 2024
US Paperback On Sale: February 20, 2024
UK Paperback On Sale: April 25, 2024
Global Audiobook On Sale: February 20, 2024

More from Legend of the Five Rings

Explore Other Worlds

TALK ABOUT THIS BOOK

Join our
mailing list

Find out everything first!

Form inexplicably not working? Try this one instead.

Pick up The Market of 100 Fortunes
from your favourite vendor:

Please note: online retailers update their catalogs at different times, and not all titles will be available everywhere immediately.